MAHARASHTRA POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD



Minutes of 15th Consent Committee Meeting of 2014-2015 held on 10.10.2014 at 11:00 a.m. at 4th Floor Conference Hall, MPC Board, Kalpataru Point, Sion (E), Mumbai 22. (Booklet No. 28)

.....

The following members of the Consent Committee were present:

Shri P. K. Mirashe
 Assistant Secretary (Technical) Maharashtra Pollution Control Board, Mumbai

2 Shri. R. G. Pethe Retired WPAE, MPC Board

3 Joint Director (WPC),

Maharashtra Pollution Control Board, Mumbai

4 Senior Law Officer

Maharashtra Pollution Control Board, Mumbai

5 Shri. Vasant B. Waghjale

Technical Advisor, MPCB, Mumbai

Dr. B. N. Thorat, Joint Director (Air Pollution Control), Member and Principal Scientific Officer, Sp. Invitee could not attend the meeting. Leave of absence was granted to him.

Chairman of the committee welcomed the members of the committee and allowed proceeding of the meeting to start. The minutes of the 13th (Booklet No. 23 & 24) Consent Committee meeting of 2013 held on 06.08.2014 circulated under Board's letter No. MPCB/AS (T)/TB/B-4492 dated 09.09.2014 were confirmed.

The meeting thereafter deliberated on the agenda items placed before the committee and following decisions were taken.

The meeting thereafter deliberated on the agenda items (Book-let no 28.) placed before the committee and following decisions were taken.

The compliance points in respect of Sugar industry are as follows

- 1. Waste water to be below 100 I/ton of Cane crushing
- 2. Flow meter for effluent to be provided
- 3. ETP up-gradation
- 4. Arresting ingress of bagasse in effluent stream
- 5. Having adequate land for effluent disposal
- 6. Provision of adequate APC
- 7. Utilization of fly ash

Based on the above compliance points, compliance rating from R 1 to R 4 has been framed. It was decided to take the decision about consent renewal based on compliance rating. It was also decided to consider mainly point no. 1, 3 and 6 above for the compliance rating.

Actual verification of compliance of point no. 1 depends on the compliance of point no. 2. It was noted that the compliance of point no. 2 is not at all satisfactory. Similarly compliance of point no. 3, not only depends on the physical provision of ETP but also on design based on techno-figibility report, proper operation and maintenance of ETP. It is, therefore, felt necessary to prescribe a condition about carrying out performance evaluation study of ETP. Accordingly the cases put up before the CC were considered with the above mentioned criteria for compliance rating.

- 1. It was decided to grant renewal of consent for a period upto 31.07.2015 to those industries falling in category R-1 (Totally complied industries = 2 nos) having complaince status as on 30.09.2014
- 2. It was decided to grant renewal of consent for a period upto 30.04.2015 to those industries falling in category R-2 (Substantially complied industries = 5 nos) having complaince status as on 30.09.2014
- 3. It was decided to issue SCN for refusal for renewal of consent and forfeiture of BG for non-compliance in respect of upgradation of ETP and/or APCs for the industries falling under the category of R-3 (21 Nos) and R-4 (5 nos) (total = 26 cases) as on 30.09.2014. The reply from the industry regarding the SCN should reach the office within 7 working days. If the reply submitted is not satisfactory or reply is not received within seven working days, respective BGs shall be forfeited and directions shall be issued with BG of Rs 15 lakhs for upgradation of ETP and Rs 15 lakhs for upgradation of APCs and with time period upto 30.06.2015.
- 4. It was also decided to issue SCN under the signature of JD(WPC).

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

Sr. No.	Name of Industry	Section	Remarks/ Discussion (1)
	Sugar Unit		
1	Manganga Sahakari Sakhara Karkhana Ltd., Sonarsiddhnagar, A/p-Atpadi.	JD(WPC)	R-3
2	Cane Agro Energy India Ltd., A/p-Raigaon(Hingangaon(BK).	JD(WPC)	R-3
	Padmabhushan Krantiveer Dr. Nagnathanna Nayakwadi Hutatma Kisan Ahir S.S.K		
3	Ltd.,(Formerly Known as M/s. Hutatma Kisan Ahir SSK Ltd.) A/p- Walwa, Tal Walwa, Dist Sangli.	JD(WPC)	R-2
4	Vasantdada Shetkari SSK Ltd., (Sugar Unit), Madhavnagar Road, Tal Miraj, Dist Sangli.	JD(WPC)	R-3
5	Yashwant Sugar & Power Pvt. Ltd., Nagewadi, Tal Khanapur, Dist Sangli	JD(WPC)	R-3
6	Mahankali SSK Ltd., (Sugar Unit) Rajarambapu Nagar, Kavathe Mahankal, DistSangli.	JD(WPC)	R-1
7	Rajarambapu Patil SSK Ltd., (Sugar Unit 4) Tippehali, Tal Jath, Dist Sangli.	JD(WPC)	R-3
8	Shri Chhatrapati Rajaram SSK Ltd., Kasaba Bawada, Tal Karveer, Dist Kolhapur	JD(WPC)	R-3
9	Rajaram Bapu Patil SSK Ltd. Unit -3, (Formerly Known as Sarvodaya Sahakari Sakhar Karkhana Ltd.), A/p-Karandwadi, Tal-Walwa, Dist - Sangli.	JD(WPC)	R-3
10	Padmashri Dr. D.Y. Patil SSK Ltd., Dnyanshantinagar, Vesarf - Palasambe, Tal Gaganbavada, Dist Kolhapur.	JD(WPC)	R-3
11	Appasaheb Nalawade Gadhinglaj Taluka SSK Ltd., Harali, Tal Gadhinglaj, Dist Kolhapur.	JD(WPC)	R-3
12	Shri Sant Damaji SSK Ltd., A/P. Mangalweda Tq. Mangalweda Dist. Solapur	JD(WPC)	R-3
13	Shetkari Sahkhari Karkhana Ltd., At. Chanapuri Tq. Malshiras Dist. Solapur	JD(WPC)	R-2
	New Phaltan Sugar Works Ltd., Sakharwadi Tq. Phaltan Dist. Satara	JD(WPC)	R-2
15	Shree Swami Samarth SSK Ltd., A/P. Dahitana Tq. Akkalkot Dist. Solapur	JD(WPC)	R-3
16	Bhima SSK Ltd., A/P. Takali, Sikhandar Tq. Mohol Dist. Solapur.	JD(WPC)	R-3
17	Yogeshwari sugar industry ltd, (Sugar unit), Limba, Tq. Pathri, Dist. Parbhani.	JD(WPC)	R-2
18	Purna Sahakari Sakhar Karkhana Ltd., Unit No. 2 (Purna Barashiv Hanuman Sakhar Udyog Ltd.,) Jawla Bazar, Tq. Aundha (N), Dist – Hingoli. (Sugar Unit)	JD(WPC)	R-4
19	Renuka Sugars Ltd., At- Deonndra, Tq. Pathri, Dist- Parbhani(Sugar Unit)	JD(WPC)	R-4
20	Sant Shiromani Maruti Maharai SSK Ltd, Mauli Nagar, Belkund, Tal- Ausa, Dist- Latur	JD(WPC)	R-4
21	Shambhu Mahadev SSK Ltd, Hawargaon, Tal-Kallam, Dist-Osmanabad	JD(WPC)	R-1
22	Bhaurao Chavan SSK Ltd, (Unit-IV), vill Hadsani Tq Hadgaon Dist Nanded	JD(WPC)	R-3

23	Saikrupa Sugar & Allied industries Ltd; A/p-Devdaithan, Tal-Shrigonda, Tal-Ahmednagar.	JD(WPC)	R-4
	Agasti S. S. K. Ltd; Agastinagar, Tal-Akole, Dist-Ahmednagar.	JD(WPC)	R-4
25	Kunturkar Sugar & Agro Pvt Ltd. Mohannagar, Kuntur, Tq Naigaon Dist Nanded	JD(WPC)	R-3
26	Shri Ganesh S. S. K. Ltd; Ganeshnagar, Tal- Rahata, Dist-Ahmednagar.	JD(WPC)	R-3
27	Siddhi Sugar & Allied industries Ltd, Ujana, Tal-Ahmadpur, Dist-Latur.	JD(WPC)	JD(WPC) withdraw the case from CC.
	BALAGHAT SSK(Earlier Name)		
28	Shree rameshwar SSK Ltd, Sipora Bazar, Tq. Bhokardan, Dist. Jalna.	JD(WPC)	R-3
29	Sagar SSK Ltd. Ghansavangi, Dist. Jalna SAMARTH SSK(Earlier Name)	JD(WPC)	R-2
30	Shri. Vruddheshwar SSK Ltd, Adinath Nagar, Tal Pathardi, Dist Ahmednagar	JD(WPC)	R-3
31	Jaishriram Sugar & Agro Products Ltd. A/P- Halgaon, Tal- Jamkhed, Dist - Ahmednagar	JD(WPC)	R-3
32	Sant Muktai Sugar & Energy, Tq. Muktainagar, Dist. Jalgaon.	JD(WPC)	R-3
	Sugar & Co-gene. Units		
1	Chatrapati Sambhaji RajeSakhar Udyog Ltd. Dindayal Nagar, Chittepimpalgaon, Tq. & Dist. Aurangabad	JD(WPC)	R-3
2	Dwarakadish Sakhar Karkhana, A/P. Sheware, Tal. Satana, Dist. Nashik.	JD(WPC)	R-3

The meeting concluded with a vote of thanks to the Chair.